I’m just a girl who decided to go for it. 

I have had a job for as long as I have been able… I remember going to my Granny’s and washing coffee mugs for cash. I had to have been 6 or 7 years old. At sixteen I got my first “real” job- answering phones at the local pizza place. Since then, I’ve worked fast-food, babysat, hospitals, nursing homes, and finally landed a great job working for the state government. All of these gigs were in addition to school and later kids, and at times, both. 

I am no-nonsense when it comes to working. I am a firm believer in pulling your weight, and taking care of your own. I’m not gonna get all political though- I was raised to not discuss politics, and I wish everyone still abided by those rules. Anyway… I’ve had a ton of bosses. Some nice, some not so much. Many who have inspired me, and a few who were completely incompetent. Love them or hate them, it’s a fact of life. 

There’s always been someone for me to answer to… and honestly, I was sick of it. I pitched my business idea to my family & friends, and met a lot of resistance… “you’ve got a great state job”, “you’ll never make enough money”, “the economy is so bad here”….Blah, blah, blah was all I heard. When I set my mind to something – it’s do or die…and I’m still kickin’. 

I opened the concierge business in January. I eased in, taking a job here and there, working evenings and weekends..by April, business was good enough for me to give my notice. I’m not saying it’s easy, but it’s definitely worth it.  My goal was for Chris to be able to quit the coal mines….and in a year’s time – we were both self-employed. We are now proud owners of two thriving businesses in a crap economy, and we have never been happier. 
I want to encourage anyone that is even toying with the idea of opening their own business to go for it. Something will ALWAYS be unfavorable. Tiptoe if you must, but take that step. 

Yes, it’s hectic. Yes, it’s scary. Yes, it’s hard work. But we love every single minute of it. So here’s to the bosses- especially the self-made ones – hope your day was wonderful!! 

Leave a Reply

