I swear, his arms feel like home…

Chris Hackney and I have been together for twelve years. Long years. Almost like dog years. 🐕 We are the perfect example of fire and gasoline. Stubborn, hot tempered, passionate people who refuse to break… Regardless of how much the other one tries to get them to. 


I don’t know that a day goes by that we aren’t fighting about something, but we are always quick to make-up. I couldn’t even tell you what most of our tiffs were over. 

Now I’m lying next to him in bed, he’s tickling me in his sleep and I realize that I could not ask for a better man. He is perfect, even if he is mean as hell. 

He has proven this time and time again, but as you get older, you get wiser, and perspective becomes much clearer. 

The last week of my life has been one of the hardest I recall. My granny, my person, passed away. For six days we could do nothing but watch as the inevitable came to pass. He was there. Holding her hand. Checking on my grandpa. Sleeping beside me in a hospital chair. Doing all of our housework. Being a single mom. He calmed my soul when my nerves were shot. Fed me when he knew I hadn’t eaten. Today he stood by my family as we chose her arrangements, and didn’t hesitate to help dig her final resting place. Now he’s sleeping in the “you’ll be sorry” Trump t-shirt she had made for her T-Man. 


When you’re young and in love you think you have it all. For us lucky ones, we do end up with just that. I love you, Chris Hackney, crossing guard sash and all. 

Leave a Reply

