Why I Didn’t March. 

Let’s talk about feminism. Defined:the advocacy of women’s rights on the basis of the equality of the sexes. Am I for equal rights? Sure I am. I think everyone should be treated equally, regardless of race, creed, gender, sexual orientation, religion, political party and Anything else you can think of. Bottom line is, work hard (if you’re able) and don’t be an asshole. 

I don’t like to spew my opinion on politics & religion, because I wasn’t raised to do so. I think that the world was a better place when we all had the good sense to mind our own business. 

Between our own idiocy and the bias of the media riling us up, we have become so divided that I honestly wonder if we will ever get our shit back together again.  

Here’s what I do know, because we live in such a fabulous country, we are afforded freedom of speech, and a right to a peaceful protest. Do I want to throw on a vagina hat and walk a mile? Hell no, I don’t even want to walk across the room to get a blanket when I’m cold. Ya know why? Because I’m tired.

 This week alone I’ve ran my household, my grandfather’s household, dealt with my grandmother’s estate, actively participated in a moving job, painted several rooms,  ran two businesses, and managed to make it to all of my kid’s sports practices.  Honestly, I could use a little less equality and a little more Netflix. 

Do I respect the ladies that decided to do so? You bet I do. If they made a speech that made them look ridiculous, that’s their right as an American. Do I agree with them? Maybe on some of their agendas, but not on their delivery. 
Do I believe that men and women are equal? Yes, I believe we have the same constitutional rights, that are for the most part fair. However, there are many areas that need some work: pay scale (almost there), parental rights (men are screwed in this dept), and military draft (equality is equality, ladies). Those are just three that come to mind. 

Men and women are inherently different though, and that’s something that we should embrace. Can I drive a U-Haul? You bet I can. Can my husband do it better? You’re damn Skippy. Can he turn on the washing machine? Yes, but sorting the laundry is not his forte. This may be different for any given couple, and that’s okay too. Point is, anything my husband can do, I can do too, and vice-versa. 

Anyway. I didn’t March on Saturday, because: 

  1. I don’t have time (or the desire) to watch the news, so I didn’t even know about the march. 
  2. I don’t even know what they were marching about.  From what I have read, it’s everything from anti- Trump to wage equality. 
  3.  I was doing man-work.  For my business. That I started. At a job that I lined up. That paid not only me & my husband, but a handful of others that needed the cash in our crap economy. 
  4. Had I been not busy, I likely would still have not marched, because I’m lazy. 
  5. Lastly, I didn’t March because it’s counter productive. If you want to make a change- you don’t scribble out a sign and walk in the street. You organize, you set goals, and you work your ass off to achieve them.

Bottom line is.. regardless of who the president is, or where you go to church, or who you lay down next to tonight, we are ALL IN THIS TOGETHER!  So love your neighbor, and serve your community, and work hard to make your corner of the world the very best it can be. ❤

Leave a Reply

